TMA4305 Partielle differensialligninger

TMA4305 Partial Differential Equations

Lecturer: Helge Holden Email: holden [at] math [dot] ntnu [dot] no

Textbook: Robert C. McOwen: Partial Differential Equations, Prentice-Hall, 2nd edition, 2003.

Lectures: (the lectures will be in English)

  • Thursday 10:15-12:00 F3
  • Friday 12:15-14:00 K27

Exercise session: Tuesday 16:15-17:00 F4

Exercises:

  • Tue, Aug 31: Problem 4 (p. 25).
  • Tue, Sep 7: Problems 1 (p. 48), 1, 3, 8 (p. 58-59).
  • Tue, Sep 14: Problems 2,3, 8, 9 (p. 71).
  • Tue, Sep 21: Problems 11 (p. 72), 3,4,6 (p. 82-83).
  • Tue, Sep 28: Problems 2, 5, 6 (p. 90-91).
  • Tue, Oct 5: Problems 3 (p. 110), 8, 10 (p. 125).
  • Tue, Oct 12: Problems 1, 2, 3 (p. 131).
  • Tue, Oct 19: Problems 3 (p. 137), 7 (p. 138), 7 (p. 146), 1 (p. 153).
  • Tue, Oct 26: Problems 1, 3, 5 (p. 170-1), 2, 3 (p. 181).
  • Tue, Nov 2: Problems 5, 8 (p. 181), 1 (p. 185).
  • Tue, Nov 9: Problems 2 (p. 170), 3, 5 (p. 282-3).
  • Tue, Nov 16: Problems 1,2 (p. 300).
  • Tue, Nov 23: Problems 4, 5, 9 (p. 300-1).

Plan for lectures:

  • Thu, Aug 26: pages 1-16
  • Fri, Aug 27: pages 16-21, 43-44
  • Thu, Sep 2: pages 44-50
  • Fri, Sep 3: pages 50-58
  • Thu, Sep 9: pages 59-65
  • Fri, Sep 10: pages 65-66. Please note: The lecture will start at 13:15. Students are advised to go to the "Perleseminar" from 12:15-13:00.
  • Thu, Sep 16: pages 66-70.
  • Fri, Sep 17: pages 74-85.
  • Thu, Sep 23: pages 85-95.
  • Fri, Sep 24: pages 96-109.
  • Thu, Sep 30: pages 110-117.
  • Fri, Oct 1: pages 118-124.
  • Thu, Oct 7: pages 126-131.
  • Fri, Oct 8: pages 142-149.
  • Thu, Oct 14: pages 149-152.
  • Fri, Oct 15: pages 153-161.
  • Thu, Oct 21: pages 162-169.
  • Fri, Oct 22: pages 170-175.
  • Thu, Oct 28: pages 175-179.
  • Fri, Oct 29: pages 179-183.
  • Thu, Nov 4: pages 183-185.
  • Fri, Nov 5:pages 277-280.
  • Thu, Nov 11: pages 280-284.
  • Fri, Nov 12: pages 285-291.
  • Thu, Nov 18: pages 292-295.
  • Fri, Nov 19: pages 296-299.
  • There will be no lecture in week 47

Exam: December 3, 2010 (written). To the exam you can bring one A4-sized sheet of paper on which you can write whatever you want. The sheet should be pre-stamped by the Department and it can be acquired from the office of the Department. No other aids permitted.

Selected previous exams (Beware: The curriculum may be different): div_eksamener.pdf

2010-11-22, Helge Holden