Disable authentication on the wired network

After March 22nd 2017, the wired network has asked you to log in using your username and password.

Logging in may lead to a slow network connection, and is not necessary to do on a Mac.

This article explains how to turn this setting off.

Summary

  1. Make sure your network cable is plugged in
  2. Open System Preferences from the Apple menu
  3. Go to Network
  4. In the left column, click on your wired network (not the Wi-Fi network)
    • The wired network has a green circle to the left
    • The Wi-Fi network may also have a green circle, but do not change the Wi-Fi network
  5. Click the Advanced button in the lower right corner
  6. Choose the 802.1X tab on the top
  7. Remove the Enable automatic connection checkmark
  8. Click the OK button in the lower right corner
  9. Then click the Apply button in the lower right corner

Step by step

  • Make sure that your laptop is connected to your monitor, and that the network cable is plugged into the monitor.
  • Open System Preferences from the Apple menu at the top left:

  • Click the Network icon:

  • Click on your wired network. This is the entry with a green circle to the left.
  • You may have more than one green network. You should choose the one that is not named Wi-Fi.
  • Click the Advanced button in the lower right corner

  • Choose the 802.1X tab on the top
  • Remove the Enable automatic connection checkmark
  • Click the OK button in the lower right corner

  • Click the Apply button in the lower right corner

  • And you're done! You may close the System Preferences window
2019-03-05, Per Kristian Hove